Treatment for celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and wheat allergy is following a gluten-free diet and avoiding gluten-containing products. The Gluten Intolerance Group, based in WA, publishes lists of foods that are allowed and that should be avoided for your safety. It’s best to look to that list, but here are some basic items.
Things you should avoid
Corn and rice cereals (they could still be made with wheat or made on equipment that touched wheat)
Sauces, soy sauce, salad dressing, marinades
Breading and stuffing mixes
Gravy and sauce mixes
Soup, soup bases, broth, and bouillon
Rice pilaf (could contain pasta and wheat starch thickeners)
Seasoned potato chips
Chocolate and candy bars
Flavored coffee mixes
Beer, ale, lagers
Other wheat names, like spelt, kamut, triticale, durum, and semolina
Things made with flour, like wheat bread, pasta, pretzels, waffles, cookies, pastries, and breakfast bars
Ice cream made with cookies or multiple ingredients that include modified food starch, which can contain wheat
Oats are allowed in the diet, but these should be certified gluten free. Contamination from wheat flour and wheat processed foods usually makes regular oats unsafe for the gluten-free diet. Some organizations and food standards allow for pure oats, but some individuals still find themselves reacting to it despite pure processing.
Food allergen labeling in the US mandates that producers label their products that contain common food allergens, including nuts, dairy, and wheat. There is no worldwide definition of gluten-free. Some individuals can handle low level exposure to gluten, but check with your doctor. If you are allergic, you should aim for zero tolerance. Traditional gluten-free labeling allows for up to 20 parts per million, or about 5 or 6 milligrams of gluten total intake.
Crepe from Miro Tea, Ballard neighborhood, Seattle